Skip to content

Many have tried, all have failed…

March 9, 2014

To translate a Vanadis game into English. I’m next on the chopping block, and not for just any Vanadis game, but Sei Monmusu Gakuen itself. The sequel just came out so maybe now is a good time to get the original translated into English.

I’ve finished every translation project I’ve started so far, but I have to admit this one scares me. My goal is to finish it in 6 months, which is possible, although perhaps not reasonable. I doubt MGQ Paradox will be released in 6 months so that seems safe. Tentatively, I’m going to translate Rin’s route and release that first, then do releases for each other character route as I complete them. The files aren’t conveniently ordered by route so I really have no idea how much work Rin’s route is compared to the whole game. Sometime in April for the first patch is the earliest guess, sometime in May more likely.

Sorry to those who really wanted VH4 translated. If I manage to finish SMMG and there’s still awhile before Paradox, I’ll see if I can fit in VH4 or even VH5. I dreaded translating another VH game, whereas doing SMMG is actually refreshing. We’ll see how I feel around line 10000 though…

Huge thanks to Progvian for writing the tools I needed and quickly dealing with my unreasonable demands without any complaints. There may be some further technical challenges, but right now I can extract, translate, and pack very easily. We’ve got word wrap, character nameplates, some customization, etc.

I’ll get a progress page up soon. For now:
702/33929 Unique Lines (2.1%)

  1. Brave permalink

    Interesting, have to say I didn’t see this one coming.

    I’ve found the few earlier Vanadis MG games I played to not really be my thing, but Gakuen looks to be a lot more interesting.

    I’m just wrapping up VH4, so no great loss for me if that goes untranslated.

  2. Cheech permalink

    Dargoth you’re so based. I was actually wondering if you would pick up a Vanadis game.

    Keep up the good work man, it’s awesome

  3. Anonymous permalink

    Best of luck dude, I hope you keep up the good work.

    I’ll be watching regardless of what you translate, big props to you😀

  4. Anonymous permalink

    I believe in you Dargoth!

  5. Sajuuk permalink

    you say many have tried and all have failed, I hope you are not including yourself in that aswell. are you. anyway I am happy to see you translate this game, but I must say VH 4 also looked intresting in art and stuff. but the game you are translating now will be revreshing change. so I will only say one more thing good luck Dargoth dare not fail or I am going to send all the monster girls from the games you translated after you,. greetings Sajuuk

  6. Anon Unknown permalink

    Best of luck, Dargoth. You’ll need it.

  7. evil-one permalink

    Believe in us who believe in you Dargoth.

  8. Anonymous permalink

    Whether you succeed or not, you get massive props for even trying in the first place, Dargoth.

    And I do think your odds are significantly better than those of anyone who’s tried before you.

    Best of luck. I believe in you.

  9. Anonymous permalink

    thank you!! I Love this game so much! Good luck man!

  10. Please for love of all us perverted monster lovers suceed

  11. Anonymous permalink

    My faith with you Dargoth. Godspeed.

  12. That is totally boss. Looks really good.

  13. Anonymous permalink

    Honestly looks way too damn vanilla as oppose to other monster girl games i’ve played. I think i will skip it, mgg without any hardcore femdom is not a real mgg IMO.

    RIP VH 4 and 5.

  14. I’m happy to see you translating this, but I really hope you eventually get to Violated Hero 4 and 5. I don’t mind waiting, even if waiting longer, I just don’t want you to drop them for good. I’ve loved them ever since VH1.

    • Honestly, if I can keep up a 6 month pace on SMMG, I could do a VH game in a month.

      • You’ve always been a monstergirl hero to me, Dargoth. Just don’t overwork yourself.

      • Anonymous permalink

        Just to make sure i understand you… It would take you at least 6 months(and you are even doubtful yourself) to do SMMG and a month(confidently) to do a VH game and you chose to do SMMG first? Wow… you must have really gotten sick of VH lol.

        I guess it’s smarter from a business standpoint, it would attract a large crowd and make you famous for doing something everyone else failed.

        Still i hope you do come back to VH some day, best of luck.

  15. Anonymous permalink

    I always wondered if this would ever get translated. Best of luck!

  16. Alphotix permalink

    Was wondering why this game hadn’t been translated yet, now I know. Well if you think you can pull it off I’ll definitely check it out, good luck to you man.. Just don’t overdo yourself lol

    Also, I’m curious about the new MGQ game coming out, Paradox. This may have been asked before, I’m not sure. I’m assuming you are translating it since Rogue retired (sad day it was), are you going to be translating the Monsterpedia? Also, I’m not sure what kind of skills/items Paradox will have but I know some monsters will be returning, Will things that return have the same name as Rogue’s translated version? I’m not sure how you choose to convert Japanese names to English, I know you are good at translating, It’s just sometimes translators choose to make up a name, not sure if Rogue did or not. I don’t know Japanese so they are most likely a reason behind that though

    Sorry for the text wall… lol

  17. tim permalink

    i finish the game in japanese although i don`t know what exactly the content of sei monmusu gakuen, the cg is really good and the girl are cute

  18. Anonymous permalink

    Nice this looks like something different🙂 Should be something to look forward to.

  19. fou_lu permalink

    Have Tried Googling about this game, but still quite didn´t Understand wat the actual gameplay look like. It’s Just a Visual Novel? Or it actually has some battles on it like MGQ?

  20. Anonymous permalink

    What is the issue with translating a Vanadis game?

    • Everyone who has tried had no experience and just flaked, their is no real issue. The japanese is said to be pretty basic, and with no gameplay engine there is no stupid hacking issues. Though the one Dargoth picked is by far the longest.

      • Anonymous permalink

        In a way, sometimes the pure VN games are the scariest. Unlike games with simple combat branches (win or lose) you can get to some pretty insane line counts if every choice leads down different branches tie together to get the required N + 2 (where N is the number of girls and 1 harem and 1 no girl) endings.

  21. Monmusu_fan permalink


  22. LazyShd permalink

    Dargoth, you are a hero, this world needs more people like you!

  23. Anonymous permalink

    This is great news and all but….does this means you’re skipping the translation for VH4?

  24. Anonymous permalink

    Read the post dude.

  25. Anonymous permalink

    I love you

  26. Anonymous permalink

    You’re a legend mate. I’ve been wanting to play this game for so long, it’ll be great to finally have an English patch out! Good luck!

  27. cia92f permalink

    really hope u finish this game, i’ve been waiting for a long time for a game like this.

  28. Anonymous permalink

    My hero

  29. Anonymous permalink

    Godspeed you wonderful bastard

  30. Anonymous permalink

  31. Cellulanus permalink

    Oh god I hope this doesn’t result in your death.

  32. Aurst permalink

    I believe in you Dargoth, if you accomplish this you can accomplish anything. You have my support and you’re one glorious man.

  33. tester323 permalink

    I remember asking you about this game earlier! I’m so glad you decided to go on this journey, good luck!

  34. Anonymous permalink

    As long as you can finish it without dying, I don’t care if it takes you two years, my patience is eternal. Take your time, and don’t push yourself

  35. I hope you can do it, cause there aren’t many monster girl visual novels out there. It would be totally cool if they could make an Otome version some day though! =^ ^=

  36. Coldblood2345 permalink

    i have a copy of vanadis mamomo musume and try to do my self a translation by myself and kinda just wonder off. So the stuff you guys do I couldn’t not even imagine the work on those.

  37. Anonymous permalink

    I believe in you

  38. omni permalink

    Whatever happened to this

Leave a Reply

